Why the hiatus?

Over the past year or so I had convinced myself that I didn’t really have any opinion I could publish. With all that is going on in the American politics today, there is no way my views would not conflict with someone else out there. And I am scared I will be adding to the already enough animosity that I don’t know how to deal with. As usual my obsessive tendencies took over me and I started watching news, documentaries on American politics, reading up on political landscape and theories on how Trump managed to get elected as President of the most powerful nation in the world.

Penning my opinions on what was happening would have made me vulnerable and I am not the kind of person who can pretend to like something I don’t. Concern for vulnerability is common human nature, or so I have been told. But was I ready to expose my thoughts? Or conceal some of it? For those who know me know that I am a very upfront person. I hardly ever sugarcoat things and pretty much always speak my mind. Hey, don’t take my word for it ask my friends. I am sure they will tell you that’s a good thing. I am probably the only one who will tell them that their outfit is totally unflattering but also offer one from my own wardrobe in a heartbeat. That is not rude, it is a dose of honesty which all of us need from our friends. Shit! that reminds me I haven’t yet had the courage to tell someone that #OOTD is really ‘Outfit of the Day’ and should not be used when you snap your face. But anyway that’s not important here.

In the olden days not a whole lot of people were as educated or exposed to all the myriad subjects that we now are. We have “Google!”, people — In your face previous stupid generations!! But wait, where I am going with this doesn’t really turn out that great for us. We now have better access to information – lots and lots of information. And with all the different ways of instant communications that are now available to us all, the power that was concentrated with very few people in the past is now in the hands of the masses. Literally in the hands.. with all our hand-held devices.

It is a good thing and a bad. Good because it is easier to find relevant information to make informed decisions for ourselves, our government and the society as a whole. Bad because it is equally easy to fall prey to misinformation. The inability to distinguish between the truth and falsehood or even facts and opinions has left the masses in chaos. The endless channels of information that we are now exposed to have led us to developing strong viewpoints but without a firm distinction of what is right and what is wrong. Whatever is on the internet counts as information now. Credibility of such a piece of information isn’t important anymore. Who even checks to see whatever they are reading is even true anymore? As long as it aligns to their thinking/belief it is all facts. That puts all the so called “information” in a grey area and this is what is dividing people based on their beliefs.

These “beliefs” are formed based on the information that may or may not necessarily be true or legit. “A lie told once remains a lie but a lie told a thousand times becomes the truth”. That quote is attributed to one of the most evil man who ever lived, Dr. Joseph Goebbels, Reich Minister of Propaganda of Nazi Germany. What I am trying to prove here is that we all must think through the things we hear in the media, read online or from the links shared on our Facebook walls. We owe it to ourselves to know the legitimacy of a piece of information we consume be it a fact or an opinion.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

