A trip to Sephora

AWfunnyWith major celebs – by that I mean the Kardashians – sporting mostly nude colors, it is safe to say that — and Miss Vogue editor-in-chief would probably agree with me on this — nudes have ruled this season pretty much, especially when it comes to lips color.

As a matter of fact I love nudes, I always have. A few days ago, I was strolling in Sephora –my idea of a weekend workout when I came across Kat Von D collection. In an attempt to avoid being a misfit in my circle, I have a newly found appreciation for makeup. From then on, I love hanging out at makeup stores because there is always something worth checking out.

Nude lipstick is an interesting conundrum in the world of beauty. 

– Maria Del Russo

So I am at Sephora, and a sales woman, with electric pink lips, walks up to me while I am subconsciously admiring and trying to guess the brand she has on (something I picked up hanging out with my girlfriends at the mall). She interrupts my chain of thought and says, “You have lovely lips, why don’t we try some color on them.” I was still probably staring at her lips as I walked over and hopped onto the high raise chair. I should have known it was never going to be just painting my lips. She did her thing for a while, running back and forth to different aisles to get, well, more makeup stuff each time and describing what each product is and what it does to make me look better. I am still a newbie to the make-up world, and like I did during all my past learning endeavors, I continue to not pay attention to anyone who tries to cram too much information in my head.

After layers of primer, foundation, highlighter, concealer, and so on, I looked myself in the mirror and thought, damn good lipstick. The woman gave be a “WTF” look and handed me the lipstick she had used. I quickly realized I had upset her by not acknowledging her efforts to make me look “flawless”; that’s what concealers, highlighters, and bronzers do to you silly 😛 (note: only when applied correctly and in right proportions, I know that now). I am currently hung over from Parks&Rec and under “April Ludgate” influence, so I just picked up my weird-ass lipstick, feeling swell for defying the trend and did my little triumph walk on the way out. 😄 😀

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick
Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick

 

Leave a Reply

