Valentine’s day again!

Its Valentine’s day again! Like always I haven’t much to talk about any prince charming in my life or how much I am in love or anything. There is a good chance that writing blog posts might eventually turn out to be my Valentine’s day tradition. Last year I was helping my friends plan a romantic dinner date for their respective love. No surprises with what happened to their eternal love within a year. Growing up I never liked Valentine’s day, it was the day which used to make me realize I was all alone (not literally) but then eventually when I saw couples celebrate their love on this day and fall out within months, I realized I was better off without all that.

I know the history of Valentine’s day, why it was started, how it evolved, blah blah blah.. but ‘m not getting into that here. When everyone is so engulfed in love — either feeling bad they don’t have any or proud that they do, I thought I might share some thoughts. Lately, I have been watching war movies particularly on World War II, reading tonnes about ethics and law and witnessing  my friends break-up! Trust me the combination of the above should be labeled ‘lethal’; drives me crazy. The more I know about each of them, the more I hate my race. I was always told that one should only look at the bright side of everything. Now there are so many things which no matter how much I try, have no other side, let alone any brighter one. If anyone could, I would like to know what bright side could massacre possibly have? I used to think world was getting worse but soon I realized world had always been this way and instead of progressive civilization, mankind is still the same uncivilized one only with new sophisticated techniques. When earlier he used stones and arrows to kill, today he uses knives and rifles instead.

I always thought civilizing meant evolving as a better race. I cannot think of one good reason how man is a more civilized race? He is the only one who kills when he isn’t even hungry, hurts his surroundings to establish his authority and believes in paper (money) more than emotions and feelings. How does that make us superior? Given a gun to monkey, it might also do the same, but I bet a monkey would stop at some point but man never will.

Man has fought in the name of religion, god, power, community and what not. He could find a million reasons to hurt humanity but could he think of one good reason not to? Everyone has to die someday and from 6 feet under, how does it matter how much money one made or how many people one headed? If one could bring a smile on someone’s face why be a cause for their tears? If one could keep someone happy, why hurt them? People do all sorts of things and never realize their mistakes and when the same happens to them, the world suddenly becomes a bad place. What makes me still optimistic about mankind is in-spite of having people like Hitler or Stalin, there have been people like Mother Theresa too.

If only each of us realized it is enough to keep people around us happy and not hurt them, this world would be such a  better place to be. Lets work to make this world a better place to live and civilize to be better species.

Happy Valentine’s to all!

2 Comments

  1. I Loved It 🙂
    Everyone has to die someday and from 6 feet under, how does it matter how much money one made or how many people one headed? If one could bring a smile on someone’s face why be a cause for their tears? If one could keep someone happy, why hurt them? People do all sorts of things and never realize their mistakes and when the same happens to them, the world suddenly becomes a bad place.

Leave a Reply

